ICD-10 Resource Center

October 1, 2014 Compliance Date

All organizations covered by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) will be required to use the updated code set, ICD-10, for all diagnosis reporting and inpatient procedure reporting on claims starting October 1, 2014.

The updated code set is anticipated to:

  • Allow for greater specificity
  • Include more clinical information and updated terminology
  • Improve ability to measure health care services
  • Increase in sensitivity when refining grouping and reimbursement methodologies
  • Decrease the need to include supporting documentation with claims.

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts (BCBSMA) is committed to ensuring that our systems, business processes, and policy changes are completed to meet the ICD-10 implementation standards and deadlines, and to comply with the federal requirement. We have completed both a business and IT assessment of the ICD-10 mandate, and have developed business requirements related to impacted processes and systems—including the APR-DRG grouper.

Helpful Links:


Email your questions to ICD10Program@bcbsma.com